“You better not lose any more weight!”

Towards the end of 2010, I started losing weight. I was going through a hard time and it just started falling off. I couldn’t tell you how heavy I was because I stopped weighing myself after high school. I’m sure I gained 20-40 pounds between 2005-2010. If I had my yearbook here in MO with me, I’d dig out that picture where I was voted most likely to become a bouncer (side note: I’m not one) and put that next to a picture of me in the early fall of 2010.

I divide my weight loss into two phases. The first was up until the end of 2011 before I moved. That’s probably where I lost the bulk of my weight. I developed those eating habits and the desire to exercise every day. It’s also when I made the choice to concentrate in finishing my associates degree so I could transfer to get my bachelors in the health field. Thankfully, I met Boyfriend at the same time I was planning on transferring and moving anyway. So here I am, in Springfield, MO. Studying exercise science and still with the same awesome guy.

20130627-081324.jpg

Honestly, it was the best choice I could’ve made. I’m happy, I love my school and I’ve met great people here. It was NOT the best choice for my weight though. At least up until recently. They say love makes you gain weight. FOR. SURE. I gained back 15 pounds over the course of the first year. I knew I wasn’t eating well and that I wasn’t exercising like I should. But it was stressful and I was adjusting. Sue me.

At the start of the year, I found running and running challenges. For three months I ran nearly every day. These last 25 pounds have come off FAST. I’m more toned than I’ve ever been and for the most part, I’ve never felt better about my body. That last bit is for another blog at another time.

To the point…Lately I’ve started hearing from people that I should stop losing weight and that I look great. Couldn’t they just say I look great? What business is it of anyone’s to tell me to stop? Let me be clear. I am NOWHERE near being underweight. I’m on the high end of average. I eat very well on most days. I’m losing weight at an acceptable pace. I’m going to school for this stuff! I know what I’m doing. I help others do this. I don’t sit here and analyze every little thing I eat. Some nights I go eat a greasy burger and fries. And I don’t beat myself up about it.

What I’m trying to say is that if you are ignorant of what someone’s fitness goals are or what their measurements are, you should keep your thoughts to yourself. Weight loss should be happy and exciting! After all, you’re feeling great physically and mentally and you get to buy new clothes (best part, obviously!) Unless someone is looking like they are LEGITIMATELY in need of help and you know them on a level where you can say something, keep your thoughts to yourself.

Leave a Reply

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Pavement Runner

Run Strong. Finish Stronger.

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews

Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

Los Angeles Dodgers blog with humor, sarcasm, and intelligence.

Frozen Royalty

Coverage of National Hockey League's (NHL) Los Angeles Kings (LA Kings) & American Hockey League's (AHL) Ontario Reign by credentialed journalist Gann Matsuda

