Brick it. Brick it real good.

20130706-212106.jpg

This is Amy. My running buddy. My sister from the womb of a different time (she killed me in utero. We know this.) She is the reason I’m so crazy. The reason I did a half marathon. The reason I am doing a triathlon. This may sound like I resent her. But I love her. She is so much of why I am here, running wise. Why I am so happy. Ok. Too mushy.

Today, Amy introduced me to my first brick workout. Bike then run. I was nervous. Totally nervous. I’m still getting used to the bike. And I’ve only ridden with boyfriend. But I needed to ride with someone new. Even more important, I got to experience some of the triathlon course.

20130706-212524.jpg

The part we rode was tame in comparison to the hills I will see on race day. We drove those, along with the cows that laugh at you as you go up the BIGGEST HILL EVER. The hill that comes after a decline that is basically 90 degrees. Ok. Exaggeration. 80 degrees. I laughed as I drove down the hill. Out loud, belly laughs.

I survived the bike ride. I hit the highest downhill speed I have to date. And averaged about 13mph for 9ish miles. Not bad!! I’m getting over my hill of flying downhill. It scares me. Seeing the course made me understand what I will have to do and there is no choice but to go fast downhill so I can carry some momentum up the hill after.

Jumping off the bike to go run was…new. Different. Weird. My legs were semi jelly after the bike and every step was just a weird feeling. I can’t describe. I will get used to it. I can’t wait to see what swimming then biking is like. I think I may try tomorrow.

Bottom line. You have to step out of your comfort. I’ve been terrified on the bike. Especially of the downhill. But you can’t get better until you do more. Today, I did more. I am proud to say I completed my first brick at a good pace and that I’m ready to keep doing more.

Leave a Reply

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Pavement Runner

Run Strong. Finish Stronger.

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews

Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

Los Angeles Dodgers blog with humor, sarcasm, and intelligence.

Frozen Royalty

Coverage of National Hockey League's (NHL) Los Angeles Kings (LA Kings) & American Hockey League's (AHL) Ontario Reign by credentialed journalist Gann Matsuda

