Review: Pebble watch!

Last weekend, I upgraded from a Jawbone UP to a Pebble smart watch. If you can call it upgrading, I’m not sure they’re on the same level at all. But I returned my UP and got the LAST Pebble in town. The day before they were supposed to be released. It’s amazing. I think the biggest excitement for me is that I have a watch screen that looks like a Pokemon battle from a GameBoy. So cool. Yes, I’m a nerd.

The biggest draw about this for me was that I HATE having to pull my phone out during a run to change music or check my pace. I’ve been interested in getting a Garmin but it seems silly to me when there are so many GPS apps for android or iPhone that, to me, do exactly the same thing. And this does way more than a Garmin. I can use all day as a functional watch, it receives notifications from my phone, there’s apps for sending navigation to the watch, music controls, plus all of the running stuff. And whatever else is developed along the way!

20130711-064818.jpg

So, now that I’m two runs in, here’s my review! I love it. Currently, the only app that integrates with it is RunKeeper. I was using Runtastic and I still am in the background because ALL my runs are in there. Runtastic emailed me and said they’re currently developing integration for Pebble and that’s great news for me. Call me if you need a beta tester!! RunKeeper is a great app and they did a wonderful job for being the first running app on Pebble.

The pace is your current pace and the distance seems very accurate. I run the same routes so I know what they should measure and this seemed to be spot on. I know so many people have complaints about GPS signal or losing distance on a run but so far, so good. I also like that you can hide the screen if you’re not interested in seeing pace or distance.

My couple of complaints are that if you get out of theRunKeeper screen during a run, it can cause your watch to disconnect from your phone via Bluetooth. If you’re receiving a text or changing music, that has caused my watch to freeze multiple times and disconnect. It has (so far) always reconnected and popped back up with the RunKeeper screen. But it is a pain. I’m not sure if it’s the app or the watch but that does happen.

Overall, I’m in love with it and would totally recommend it to others. If you can find one 🙂

Sidenote: it was so humid yesterday!! I sweat like a crazy person anyway, but this took the cake. My shorts were so soaked with sweat from mile five on that they were falling down from the weight. Old Navy!!! Get it together!!

Leave a Reply

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Pavement Runner

Run Strong. Finish Stronger.

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews

Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

Los Angeles Dodgers blog with humor, sarcasm, and intelligence.

Frozen Royalty

Coverage of National Hockey League's (NHL) Los Angeles Kings (LA Kings) & American Hockey League's (AHL) Ontario Reign by credentialed journalist Gann Matsuda

