Senior Year

Monday begins fall semester for me. It also will be the first day of my senior year. The beginning of the end of my time at MO State. I have loved almost every second of it.

20130814-104124.jpg

To say there weren’t difficult times would be a lie. To say I loved every minute would be a lie. My first day of class it was 12 degrees and all I was wearing was a sweatshirt. I’m from California. The beach part. You think I owned a jacket? Yeah right. But coming here was the best decision ever. I’ve made wonderful friends, become more dedicated than ever to my fitness and health. I love my professors in the department of kinesiology. I don’t think I would’ve been this successful or happy at Arizona State (though I do sometimes wonder what would have been).

20130814-104414.jpg

However, it’s scary to think I’m gonna be joining the “real world” sooner than later. I will be interning in the fall, which I hope gives me great insight and reinforces that what I’m doing is right. There isn’t much precedent for programs dedicated to childhood obesity prevention, so my dream is to be a pioneer in the field. We talk and talk about it in the news, how it is a growing epidemic, but what are people doing? What CAN you do?

That’s what I want my life’s work to be. My current job has shown me how much I enjoy working with children and my passion is fitness. How better to merge them than to dedicate myself to getting and keeping kids healthy?

Leave a Reply

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Pavement Runner

Run Strong. Finish Stronger.

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews

Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

Los Angeles Dodgers blog with humor, sarcasm, and intelligence.

Frozen Royalty

Coverage of National Hockey League's (NHL) Los Angeles Kings (LA Kings) & American Hockey League's (AHL) Ontario Reign by credentialed journalist Gann Matsuda

