“THAT” run

If you’re a runner like me, you’re at least a little bit concerned with your times. Ok…that’s a lie. If you’re a runner like me you are a LOT concerned with your times. Nothing ruins a run faster for me than a time or pace that is well under what I’m capable of. It’s vain and I know it. I’m working on it. Trust me. I used to be a lot worse.

But jeez. Sometimes it really makes a girl feel crappy! Could’ve done this, should’ve done that. Why did I walk, why didn’t I make myself run faster.

After (and during) runs like this, you HAVE to force yourself to stop focusing in what you didn’t do and realize you’re not a loser because your time was a little slower today. So what? You still did it! There’s probably a reason for it.

This morning, I didn’t eat breakfast, didn’t have coffee, barely drank any water, just ran out the door because it was my ONLY chance before the brutal heat set in. Guess what? It’s already pretty stinking hot. I skipped over everything I normally do AND it’s a billion eighty degrees already. Calm down.

At the end of a run that wasn’t your best, remember that everyone has those days. Everyone. They’re going to happen. But as long as you went out there and gave it the best you could, that’s what matters.

So pat yourself on the back for doing what many people don’t and move on. There’s always tomorrow 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. playfulpups
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 15:06:26

    I’m a total newbie runner, and also concerned with times (although I know I shouldn’t be). But how else will I know if I am getting better- especially as a beginner? I have had some slower runs, but I agree with you- I just feel good that I am out there doing it, instead of home on the couch!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. knitnrun4sanity
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 15:58:45

    I think we have cycles. I am winding up having taken it fairly easy since a marathon in may. Your body cannot keep it up all the time and i am now training in an attempt to get a pb in a half.

    Reply

  3. olivetorun
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 00:49:57

    I love this. I get a little irked when people claim every run is a good run… Running is so beautiful… Running is never hard… Uhm, no. Running is my love and there are still days it outright sucks. Good days, bad days, good runs, bad runs…. We all have them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Pavement Runner

Run Strong. Finish Stronger.

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews

Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

Los Angeles Dodgers blog with humor, sarcasm, and intelligence.

Frozen Royalty

Coverage of National Hockey League's (NHL) Los Angeles Kings (LA Kings) & American Hockey League's (AHL) Ontario Reign by credentialed journalist Gann Matsuda

