Bass Pro CoHick 13.1 aaand I’m injured

November 3rd.

In the weeks leading up to my second half marathon, I will completely admit I was concerned. I had begun dealing with shin issues, something new. I can’t say if I ever had shin splints in my whole life. Over the last year, I’d never felt even a twinge of discomfort in my shins. But before our trip to Green Bay in mid-October, the shin pain came on hard and heavy. KT tape, foam rolling, you name it, I was doing it. I knock on KT tape quite a bit. Probably because some people use it like a fashion statement and that irks me to no end. But it REALLY helped me. I’ll never doubt it again.

20131113-212936.jpg

The morning of I felt great. Normally I avoid running the day before a race but I did on Saturday. It was a major confidence booster. I felt strong. I felt ready. A 2:20-2:25 time was achievable.

7:00am. We were off. Roughly 5000 runners if memory serves me correctly. I started at 7:02. It was cold, upper 30s. But for me, there is nothing better than running in the chill. Not windy, just chilly. The course had its hills but thank god for my support team that checked in on me every few miles. Boyfriend met up with me all around the course and I was so happy to see him. Except around mile five when he had Starbucks in his hand. Are you insane?! Who does that?!! My running sister Amy was all over the course as well. If I can’t be running with her, having her say weird words of encouragement along the way is enough for me.

Best sign of the race? This:

20131113-213811.jpg

If you don’t recognize this, we can’t be friends.

My splits were even. They were faster than I had hoped. I knew my goal would be met. Mile twelve I still felt strong. That’s how I knew I trained well. I was ready to give it everything in the last mile. But around 12.5, my knee decided it had given enough. The pain started dull and got sharper. The same IT band pain I have dealt with in the past. It was awful. I pushed that last .6 HARD. And I finished in 2:18:02 official.

20131113-213945.jpg

Since the race, I haven’t been able to run much. Probably because I’m stupid and didn’t give myself more than a day before I was pushing it again. I can’t help it. I am so addicted, even though I know better. My knee needs the rest, I need the rehab and to cut back my mileage. I need more protein in my diet, especially right after a training session. I know I will be back out there before I know it. Big picture. I just have to be smart.

I can’t wait for my next race. To me, that’s the best feeling after finishing: wanting to do it again.

20131113-214350.jpg

Leave a comment

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews