JK. Still hurt.

Oh, the chronicles of IT band pain.

Last week I took several days off and only resumed short, easy runs when I was pain free. I taped up with KT tape, iced daily, foam rolled daily. I completed three runs 1.25-1.6 miles in length without pain. I also took yesterday off.

This morning was not meant to be. I probably should not have run. I had a slight twinge but no real pain when I started. I didn’t run any further, though I planned for it to be longer. I ran slower than normal. Very suddenly the pain became real and I had to shut it down. The worst was the half mile walk home. Nobody wants to see a runner walking down the street crying at 7:30am.

I have a massage scheduled for Friday but other than that, I’m not sure what else to do. It isn’t the shoes because I haven’t brought in a new pair since September. Neither shoe in my rotation is due for retirement. I feel like I’m doing everything right. A doctors visit or PT isn’t an option. Like almost everyone else I know, I don’t have insurance for that.

I’m at my wits end. I don’t know what else to try. Do I rest again? I’m not a HUGE believer in rest. I know it sounds stupid. But it doesn’t fix the underlying issue that is causing it. You feel better, for back with the same form and the injury just reappears. I obviously need to rehab whatever is causing it…if only I knew what.

20131118-083324.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kelly @ racesrepsramblings
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 16:49:18

    Gah.. hang in there! Injuries are the pits 😦

    Reply

  2. slowrunnersexcursion
    Dec 02, 2013 @ 08:42:43

    Sorry about your injury! Stay positive. Better to recover properly than rush and maintain consistently injured. 😦 Do you have access to a spinning bike or pool or even tried yoga?

    Reply

    • saramechell
      Dec 02, 2013 @ 15:02:42

      Did lots of spin bike and some pool work! And quite a bit of strength training. Getting slowly back into running now. I’ve been thinking about trying hot yoga, we’ll see.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Pavement Runner

Run Strong. Finish Stronger.

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews

Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

Los Angeles Dodgers blog with humor, sarcasm, and intelligence.

Frozen Royalty

Coverage of National Hockey League's (NHL) Los Angeles Kings (LA Kings) & American Hockey League's (AHL) Ontario Reign by credentialed journalist Gann Matsuda

