The New Year.

I am not a person who makes resolutions, never have been, never will be. I am a live in the moment person. I don’t give myself deadlines, I rarely put things in terms of numbers because that doesn’t work for me. I don’t want to be stressed. I think 99% of a goal is how you get there. I would like to run a marathon. I would like for it to be in 2015. Will it? Is that goal in stone? No. Life happens and I don’t ever want to be in a position where I’m beating myself up over missing a goal because something else awesome came up.

That said, it isn’t that I DON’T believe in setting goals. I do. I just prefer mine to be a bit more broad and have a bit more flexibility. It fits me better. So here are some of my goals to make 2014 the happiest year yet.

Save money.
Enjoy my last semester at Missouri State.
Skype with my family more often.
Stress less about things I can’t control – things work out.
Don’t be such a slave to the scale.
14 in 14
Take myself less seriously.
Run a sub-2:15 half marathon. Okay…sometimes I put numbers on my goals 🙂

What are your quality type goals for 2014?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. olivetorun
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 17:32:49

    Can you run your sub 2:15 half with me? Thanks 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jesse - Questionably Texan
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 14:49:47

    I should probably skype with my family more too. When I opened up Skype to talk with them on Christmas day, it told me I needed to upgrade versions. From 2.X to 6.X. Guess I don’t use it very often!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Pavement Runner

Run Strong. Finish Stronger.

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews

Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

Los Angeles Dodgers blog with humor, sarcasm, and intelligence.

Frozen Royalty

Coverage of National Hockey League's (NHL) Los Angeles Kings (LA Kings) & American Hockey League's (AHL) Ontario Reign by credentialed journalist Gann Matsuda

