Sweat, Sweat, Sweat

With the increase in strength training over the last few months, I’ve seen a marked decrease in my hamstring and hip flexibility.  I’ve never been someone that was super flexible but flexible enough.  Meaning, I can’t do the splits but I can bend over and touch the ground with my palms.  I’m very aware of changes in my body.  That’s pretty typical of anyone who puts fitness as a priority.  So this change was concerning to me.  You have to work for your flexibility and it can leave you quickly.  

 

I started checking out hot yoga studios in Springfield.  I’ve taken a yoga class or two and countless yoga/pilates fusion classes.  I’m not completely new to yoga but I’m not a yogi by any means.  Always do your research!  Check yelp reviews, talk with friends about which studios they like or dislike.  Luckily, one of my friends has done quite a bit of hot yoga and agreed to attend a class with me.  SO. HELPFUL.  I’d have had no idea what was going on, how or where to set my mat and towel up or how to just breathe in that hot air.  If you’re looking to try out hot yoga and have a friend that has done it, use them as a resource!  Take them with you and be open to their suggestions.  

 

The studio I chose, Pure Hot Yoga, uses infrared heating.  Very quiet and very effective.  I swear, the room really does get hotter as the class goes on.  As soon as we started moving, I was sweating.  That’s one of the coolest thing about the human body.  Did you know that as a runner or other athlete who is acclimated to the heat, your body is trained to respond faster to the heat and stress your body is under by sweating sooner?  This is a fabulous adaptation when working out in the heat.  Not so much in real life.  You know, when that room you’re in is just a little too hot and your heart rate is already up from taking the stairs and you start pouring sweat?  Gross.  That’s me.  Thanks, body! 

 

Back to the yoga.  Parts of the class I felt I might die.  Thankfully, the instructor started out the class by working just on breathing, getting everyone acclimated to the heat and heavy air.  Any time I felt I might be getting overwhelmed, I went back to that initial breathing and was able to calm myself down and get my body back.  At the end, I felt refreshed and alive, not drained and defeated by the work.  To me, that’s exactly what any workout should leave you feeling. 

 

Memberships are expensive.  But if you do your research (which you will, because I suggested it!) you’ll find that many studios offer community classes.  These classes are open to non-members for a minimal fee.  Typical cost around here is $5 per class.  To me, a person who will likely only take one, MAYBE two classes each week, that’s perfect.  No membership required!  

 

Anyone can do it.  There were women and men in last nights class of all shapes, sizes and ages.  Everyone getting their sweat on and connecting with their body.  What’s greater than that?!  Grab your mat and find a hot yoga studio.  

Leave a Reply

Urban Orienteering Race

It's dark and you're running around downtown in spandex. Explain that to your grandparents.

GH Sports

an empowered fitness community

Life Begins When You Let It

A (sometimes) sattirical look at life, running, & the human experience. (i.e. defying age & "gray"vity).

fat2plant

The power of adding plants to your life!

My Journey to Enlightenment

My attempt to lose weight and become an elite long-distance runner.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

Barbells and Bacon

All about staying fit as an intern and a student

RunnerRich

Adventures in running...faster

Questionably Texan

The Adventures of a Canadian Ultramarathoning Bike-Commuting Vegan Living in Texas

Pavement Runner

Run Strong. Finish Stronger.

Hockey Mayor

NHL and LA Kings hockey news, inside information and interviews

Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

Los Angeles Dodgers blog with humor, sarcasm, and intelligence.

Frozen Royalty

Coverage of National Hockey League's (NHL) Los Angeles Kings (LA Kings) & American Hockey League's (AHL) Ontario Reign by credentialed journalist Gann Matsuda

